Emery Marc Petchauer

Emery Marc Petchauer

East coast friends:

We’re back!

We relocated to north Jersey this summer. It’s been a busy move with many twists and turns, but we’re here. We’re getting settled. And we’re getting ready.

The move made good sense as Anica starts her new job at Rutgers University-Newark this fall. She could not be more excited for this new job and season. And for me, I am on sabbatical + research leave for the year – and very grateful for the MSU resources that make this possible. It’s my first sabbatical – ever! In the fall I’ll be a visiting scholar with the Racial Literacy Project at Teachers College, Columbia University, and in the spring I’ll be visiting at Rutgers-Newark in Urban Education.

These engagements are products of other people’s generosity toward me. And in that same spirit, these engagements will bring in many of the artists, organizers, collaborators, etc. who have been a part of my work over the past few years. There will be a performance/teach-in, an open studio session, and some other stuff. There will be plotting, there will be planning, there shall be music and laughter.

So friends in NYC, Jersey, Philly – shoot, all the way to DMV! – let’s (re)connect! Because (say it with me now…)

“In this exquisitely connected world, it’s never a question of ‘critical mass.’ It’s always about critical connections.” -Grace Lee Boggs