Emery Marc Petchauer

Emery Marc Petchauer

What I’m up to this week 03.01.21

Reading: Back to some YA lit with Darius The Great is Not Okay by Adib Khorram.

Teaching: Mostly one-on-one meetings with students as they prepare to finish their first major assignment. I’ve come to call these meetings collaboration sessions since they really consist of us working together rather than a student asking me questions that need answers. At times I have students overlap in these meetings as well so they can listen in on the ideas, challenges, and solutions of classmates. The sessions are absolutely time-consuming, but if I can muster the time in my schedule, I find them always worth it when I am later reviewing, grading, and giving feedback on the finished assignments.

Listening: Rae Khalil is special, and so is the band. I get the same feeling while listening that I did when first hearing The Internet. Tiny Desk concert for the win.

Making: Still digging deeper into Koala sampler, especially with this really creative way to get a granular effect out of existing features. But really I’m just stalling before blocking off a whole weekend to get into the Live 11 update.