Emery Marc Petchauer

Emery Marc Petchauer

What I'm up to this week 1/25/22

Reading: Getting ahead a bit by reading Juliet Takes a Breath by Gabby Rivera.

Writing: Some final edits on a series of articles coming out in Kairos written by a group of graduate students who took my BreakBeat Lit class last year. This has been special: moving together from seminar papers to publication. Kairos only publishes webtexts, a format I’ve honestly never had any experience with before. But having to dig into this new world has certainly got me thinking differently about alternatives to print-based scholarship, like this amazing thing that I don’t exactly know what to call it.

Teaching: Some norm building and early architecture in the first week of the semester in my anti-racist YA Lit course.

Listening: This new stomper “Murphy’s Law” by veteran Irish singer Róisín Murphy. Live version recommended. I hope I’m not too late to grab the 12” vinyl because this needs to be played out when dance floors are a thing once again.